Friday, 1 April 2011

About Velama Caste

 About Velama Caste:
The history of Velamas is as old as Telugu bravery. Their military exploits form an important part of Telugu tradition, history, and folklore. The battle of Palnadu, Palnati Charitra, battle of Bobbili etc speak volumes about their chivalry. They are known to be fearless and battle hardy warriors. The lives of popular velamas such as Thandra Papa Rayudu, Palnati Brahmanaidu, and Rani Mallama Devi are synonymous of bravery. Their heroic traditions such as ' Sati ' prove that they are of Aryan descent with extensive inter mingling with other martial races of India. Velamas are well known for their liberal outlook, which is obvious from the war of Palnadu. Velama kings regularly clashed with the Reddy's but had friendly dealings with the Orissa Gajapatis and the Bahmanis due to political compulsions at that time.

Famous Velama personalities in various fields:

Jalagam Vengala Rao
Jalagam Vengala Rao was the Chief Minister of the Indian state of Andhra Pradesh from December 10, 1973 to March 6, 1978

Kalvakuntla Chandrasekhar Rao (KCR)- MP, TRS President

(Born 17 February 1954), abbreviated KCR, is a member of the 15th Lok Sabha of India. He is a Member of Parliament from the Mahaboobnagar constituency of Andhra Pradesh and is the president of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi.[1] He was the cabinet minister for Labour and Employment.

KVP Rama Chandra Rao
Rajyasabha member and family friend to YSR

Chennamaneni Vidyasagar Rao is a former Union Minister of State of India. He was Minister of State for internal affairs in Vajpayee government from 1999. He was elected to 12th and 13th Lok Sabha from Karimnagar in Andhra Pradesh as a Bharatiya Janata Party candidate.

Kotagiri Vidyadhar Rao was a former minister and MLA from 1983 to 2004.

Rameswar Rao Jupally is Founder of My Home Industries Limited and serves as its Chairman and Managing Director. Dr. Rao is Founder of My Home Group

Meneni Satya Narayan Rao ( MSR ) – MLA / Ex MP, Former PCC President, AICC General Secretary and Party In-charge for several states.

 Chintakayala Ayyanna Patrudu (born September 4, 1956) was the well known politician from Andhra Pradesh. He was elected to the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly several times from Narsipatnam Constituency in Visakhapatnam district and also as Member of Lok Sabha, Indian Parliament once from Anakapalli Constituency in Visakhaptnam district, on Telugu Desam Party (TDP) Ticket.

Thanner Harish Rao – MLA ( Siddipet ) Medak Dist, TRS leader, Former AP Govt. Cabinet Minister.

 Jupally Krishna Rao is representing the Congress Party from Kollapur Assembly Constituency, Mahabubnagar District of Andhra Pradesh. He was elected 3 terms for Assembly from the Kollapur constituency. He served as Minister for Food, Civil Supplies, Legal Metrology and Consumer Affairs in Dr. Y.S.Rajasekhar Reddy’s cabinet and continued with the same portfolio in the the team of K.Rasaiah. Presently he is Minister for Endowments in N. Kiran Kumar Reddy’s cabinet.

Yerrabelli Dayakara Rao is an Indian politician and a former Member of Parliament from Warangal Lok Sabha Constituency in Andhra Pradesh. He belongs to the Telugu Desam Party

Puri Jagannath born 28 September 1966, is a prominent Tollywood film director and producer. He is also a two time Nandi Award recipient.

 R. Narayana Murthy is a film director and producer of Tollywood (Telugu) films in India. He is known for his ‘red’ or communist revolutionary films that expose the exploitation of society’s lower strata.

Anoo’s is the brainchild of four sisters Ms. Anuradha, Ms. Annapurna, Ms. Anupama and Ms. Anirudha, whose first two letters in their names are `Anu` hence the name `Anoo’s`.  These four sisters are popularly known as Anoo’s sisters who are licensed estheticans.


Kasuganti Vaman Rao, Kapil group of Companies.

Gorukanti Ravender Rao MD, Chairman, Yashoda Group of Hospitals, Hyderabad.